Round 4: PGA Championship
August 12 2012
KIAWAH ISLAND, S.C. — Zach Johnson was hit with a one-stroke penalty on the 18th hole, which was his ninth of the day, during the final round of the PGA Championship.
Johnson eventually finished with a 79 and was 12 over for the tournament. Here is the explanation of his breach of Rule 18-2b from the rules committee.
"After addressing the ball prior to a short final putt on the hole, Johnson’s ball apparently moved after he had begun his stroke. Johnson notified PGA of America Rules Committee Officials of his concern regarding the movement of the ball. Video review by officials was inconclusive, however, Johnson was convinced that the ball had moved.
Under the Rules, when a ball moves after address, it must be replaced, unless the movement of the ball occurs after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made. In this situation, since the movement of the ball took place after Johnson had begun the stroke, he was not required to replace the ball, but was not exempt from the one-stroke penalty provided for under the Rule.”